I Am Prepared for NaNoWriMo

I’m completely prepared for NaNoWriMo.  I have my Starbucks card loaded and ready to go.  I’ve got a fresh pound of Starbucks Iced Coffee Blend.  I have an unopened canister of my favorite holiday tea blend.  The baby has her swing for naptime.  The bottles are ready for use.  I now have enough bottles to use the dishwasher instead of washing by hand.  Groceries are purchased for at least a week.  Cookies are prepped and nearby in case of an emergency.  I am prepared and ready to go.

Yesterday I spent the day figuring out what the heck I was gonna write about.  The lack of characters I have previously developed was a larger hurdle than I expected.  I’ve spent years with characters from different manuscripts.  But, the rules state everything from scratch.  Therefore, I came up with a few sketches of characters yesterday.  I figured out most of my new leading lady.  She’s in her early twenties and from a small mining community in Western Colorado.  Unlike most of her friends, her father owned a ranch in the area.  She’s spent her entire life on the Western Slope, never going further than Grand Junction, Colorado from her home town.  Thanks to books and the internet, she knows there is an entire world waiting for her somewhere past the mesas and canyons of her home.

I haven’t figured out much more past that at the moment.  I think she’s gonna go off and see the world.  Give me about 10,000 words and I’ll let you know where she’s going and what her name is.  Yes, I haven’t named my main character yet, but I think that will come today.  We’ll see what happens today.  I’d like to be at the 15,000 word mark by the end of the week.

2 thoughts on “I Am Prepared for NaNoWriMo

  1. Alright, I’m doing Nano too this year and am completely scared witless! Good luck to you, I can’t imagine what taking care of a new baby adds into the crazy writing mix.

Leave a Reply

