NaNoWriMo Begins!

In one of those stupid moments, I decided I should participate in NaNoWriMo.  (That’s National Novel Writing Month.)  For those of you who have forgotten I have had an action packed year.  In January I found out I was pregnant.  The doctors immediately put me on bed rest.  The original due date was mid-September.  That was moved up to a planned “inducing” on 27 August.  By the end of June the doctors changed that date to early August.  On 8 August I had the baby.  The baby didn’t cry when she was born because she wasn’t breathing and didn’t have a heartbeat.  A few minutes later and baby and I were both on oxygen with a bunch of other machines hooked up to me.  Luckily, those machines were gone within hours.  Unfortunately, we both had some long lasting medical issues that we’re dealing with.

All of this happened while I tried shopping two separate novels to agents.  (Both novels were queried at different times throughout the year.)  I keep getting rejection letters/emails from my queries.  Let’s just say it’s time for a new novel and a new query letter.  I started two new novels in July, and I’m editing both of those while writing a third.  Yep, I write too much, even with a baby.

Anywho, sometime during the pregnancy I thought it would be fun to participate in NaNoWriMo.  I signed up in June.  (Can we blame hormones?)  NaNoWriMo starts today.  The idea is to write a 50,000 word novel in one month.  It’s just a rough draft, which makes this doable.

The problem?  NaNoWriMo requires the novel to be a completely from scratch novel.  No writing about anything you’ve already jotted down on paper.  No using characters you have already created.  No reusing scenes from a novel you’ve decided will never see the light of day.  These 50,000 words must be brand new.  Needless to say, the last weekend has been spent thinking of a brand new novel with brand new characters.

Let’s see if I can win NaNoWriMo.  What does it take to win?  Simply write that 50,000 word novel.  Anyone who writes a novel in a month is a winner.  Let me know if you are participating this year.  We can all support each other.  And if you aren’t participating you can be our cheerleading section.  I know I can do this, and so can everyone who is writing a novel for NaNoWriMo!

Leave a Reply

