My June Plans

Glimmer Train Press hosts a contest every single month.  This month’s contest is called Fiction Open.  The ground rules are pretty much just write a short story between 2,000-20,000 words.  All themes are welcomed, according to Glimmer Train Press’ website.  Submissions are being accepted between now and June 30th at midnight Pacific Time.

I’ve got a sketch of a story started for this month’s competition.  I’m hoping between now and Friday to stretch that sketch into a few thousand words.  That gives me a week to let the piece sit, a week for revisions, and hopefully I’ll have a polished piece by the end of the month.

So, who wants to join me?  I figure the more the merrier, right?  You can find all the rules at http://www.glimmertrain.com.

Meanwhile, I’ll be busy working on my short story and ignoring my health until further notice.

3 thoughts on “My June Plans

  1. I was ready to write a story for this month’s contest, really, I had an idea with a basic plot outline and everything. But all of a sudden, I was struck with a ton of inspiration for my novel and now I can’t seem to pull away from doing that. Oh well, I’m glad they have competitions every month. Good luck to you as always.

  2. Sounds like a good plan! I wish I could write fiction so quickly! I’ve been feverishly working on my manuscript, fleshing it out. The agent and I have discussed an Aug. 1st deadline for 50 pages – I need a deadline in order to get my butt in gear and finish. Good luck on your short story!

Leave a Reply

