Why I Went Silent

Sorry about not posting Thursday or Friday.  Wednesday I went to the OB/GYN and suddenly I had a couple (or a few dozen) tests that were necessary tests.  I took some time Thursday for an adjustment period.  Friday I spent most of the day at the hospital lab.  There might be something to the rumor that lab assistants are vampires.

Needless to say, blogging was a bit far from my mind.  Actually, writing was far from my mind.  As I sat in the lab my mind went over everything that these tests could mean.  Mostly, that an already high risk pregnancy was about to become severely high risk.  No, I’m not sure what the difference is between high and severely high.  What it really means is that I now have severe anemia (lots of blood transfusions), and might add both late term preeclampsia (which means the first trimester preeclampsia was in fact real preeclampsia) and gestational diabetes.  I’m also gaining way too much weight.  I’ve gone from 105 pounds when I started this whole thing to 145 pounds.  Yep, I’m all of 5’8” and now I weigh 145 pounds.  I can’t fit in my Size 3 shorts for the summer.  This is an issue with the nurses at the clinic.

I think I’ve found my mind and writing ability again.  And I promise I’ll pay more attention to the blog than my seemingly bad health in the future.  Thanks for understanding, y’all!

2 thoughts on “Why I Went Silent

  1. Far be it from me to disagree with what your doctor says but 145 lb at 5’8″ in your last trimester does not seem like that much. I’m 5’1″ and topped out at 150 lb with my second child (more with my first, but I really did gain too much with him) and I was in fantastic shape. If you were only 105 lb when you started, then you were underweight for your height, so shouldn’t you gain more than the recommended 25-35 lb? Also I’m pretty sure no one can fit into size 3 shorts when they are pregnant… just my two cents…

    The anemia and pre-eclampsia is scary though! I hope they can get it under control soon!!! Get some rest.

    • Thanks, Heather! I needed that one from someone else. The nurses have all been on my case since I got pregnant that I was gaining too much weight. And these lovely nurses and most of the doctors and midwives think a woman should only gain 15-20 lbs.

      I’ll get some rest. I promise.

Leave a Reply

