Finding the Title: My Really Bad Method

Where to find the book title?  It’s not that easy when you’ve used the same title for two years and suddenly realize it’s a no-go.

When I realized I needed a new name, I turned to the internet to see what other authors thought about naming a book.  Let’s just say about all they could agree on was what the title is supposed to get across.  It’s kinda like asking people how they came up with their children’s names.  Ask a hundred people, and you’ll get a hundred answers.

I tried what one writer suggested and turned to poetry.  Nothing caught my eye, and I’ve got a small library of poems and poets.  I turned to a hymnal to look for inspiration like another writer and came up with nothing.  I thought about music, and looked for songs about home.  A couple of songs stood out as possible inspiration.

I branched out to a few songs about journeys and such.  By time I finished with my list of possible songs for inspiration I had nine songs.  (Once more, I don’t plan on using the actual song titles or lyrics.  That would be wrong and what happened to me.)  But, it never hurts to branch out and look at things that way.

All nine songs were placed in a play list on iTunes.  Anything that didn’t stand out right away (again) got thrown off the list.  Four songs got tossed to the side.  That left me with five songs.  Once more I culled through the list, just to make sure I had the songs I wanted.  One more song didn’t just fit in the way I had hoped.  That left me with four songs.  (Hey, I want the perfect title.)  These songs each had something that spoke to me about the manuscript.  If anything could give me inspiration it would be these songs.

This time I listened to the songs from start to finish.  And another one bit the dust.  (Which isn’t inspired from the songs on the list.)  Back to the list, and back to looking for inspiration.  Two more didn’t make the cut.  In the end, only one song could possibly offer any real inspiration.  The song “Going Home” by Mary Fahl seemed perfect for the manuscript.

Once I had a list of possible titles I culled those for titles I really liked.  That left me with exactly seven titles.  I tried saying those titles out loud, and a few more dropped off the radar.  I came up with four titles I loved.  Those titles needed to be unique.  Off I went to Amazon to search for my titles.  One title was quickly thrown away since it’s been used 231 times.  Yeah, I want something unique.

One title became a maybe since it’s been used twice, once as recently as 2009.  I teetered with using it until I decided I wanted something unique.  That leaves me with two titles.  Neither title based on my idea of listening to music, or looking at poetry.  One was suggested by my mother.  The other came to me while browsing a friend’s jewelry catalogue.  Yeah, the title makes sense in the end.

And when the book is accepted by an agent I’ll let you know what the title is.  I’m not letting this title become someone else’s title.

5 thoughts on “Finding the Title: My Really Bad Method

  1. you are very good at keeping secrets. I already forgot what I had suggested, I guess it pays to be old. So your secret is safe with me.LOL

  2. So all that work with the songs and in the end you go with something from a completely different thread? Yeah that sounds about right. Titles are hard, one of my weak-points as well. The music/poetry thing sounds interesting though even if it didn’t work out for you this time. Thanks for read.

Leave a Reply

