What I Did Over My Christmas Break

Are the holidays finally over?  Can I go back to querying agents without said agents going “Don’t you have family that you want to see this time of year?”  Great!

Let’s start off the New Year with the usual questions for someone you haven’t seen over the holidays.  How were your Holidays?  Did you get to spend a lot of time with your friends and family?  Get everything done that you wanted to?  Mine were fine.  I twisted my ankle Thanksgiving Night falling off the arm of the sofa.  (FYI, it turns out sitting cross-legged on the arm of a sofa right by the credenza is a bad thing.)  I gave myself a concussion on the doorframe of my Explorer.  (There were too many packages in my arms for me to remember to duck before putting said packages in the Explorer.)  Oh, and a nice bruise from my eyebrow to my hairline.  Luckily, I had makeup in my house from some event back in April.  Three days after Christmas I broke my foot when a bottle of rootbeer jumped out of the fridge and landed on the arch of my foot.  (Luckily, the bottle didn’t break, so I didn’t have to clean up glass on top of everything else.)

Let it not be said I spent my break hurting myself.  I did manage to write a few short stories that I ran on the blog.  I found a beta reader.  I decided that it would be a great idea to revise SWEET SIXTEEN; again.  I happened upon a blog post on how to write a query letter that made me go “Ah, that’s what agents want in a query letter.  Why did I waste money on those books that confused me?”  I revised a short story I want to submit to a contest.  I got three people to participate in my Holiday Short Stories.

All in all I think I had a pretty productive Holidays and Vacation.  I am refreshed and ready to get back to blogging.  Hopefully, y’all are ready to read my posts again.  Oh, and let’s hope this year I find an agent!  Fingers crossed, and lots of work ahead.

Happy New Year’s, Everyone!

6 thoughts on “What I Did Over My Christmas Break

  1. My Lord, Amanda, what did you “not” do to yourself?!? I have to admit I about spit my coffee all over the keyboard reading how you fell off the couch arm…..sorry but it was funny…..

    Maybe you need a break from having a break? Lmao…again sorry about the insensitivity…it is funny sounding after all.

    Welcome back to the world of blogging.

    I will get you that info today….for the blog award.

    ~Peace~

    • If it makes you feel better, my sweet, caring husband put his phone on mute when I called to ask if he could drive me to the hospital with the foot. He was laughing so hard he couldn’t breathe. I need a support group for klutzes. “Hi, I’m Amanda, and I’m a klutz.”

      Whenever you get the info to me for the blog award is fine. I’ll be here.

  2. Let’s hope all your injuries are only what Jean Houston calls “life’s woundings,” woundings that lead us to our higher paths–or are maybe the path itself. Good luck with your blog and in your search for an agent (I’m going through the querying process too). Let’s envision ourselves and our journeys in 2011 as successful starting right now.

    • How did the submission packet request go, Margaret? I figure the bumps and bruises are just “seeds” of ideas. I just have to make on of my characters in to a klutz someday. Then all of these “incidents” will just be fodder for story ideas.

      We’ll both find agents this year! Next thing you know, I’ll have to go to B&N or Amazon to pre-order the latest best-selling novel from Margaret Duarte! And I’ll have to bug my friends to go buy your books. We’ll get through this together.

Leave a Reply

