A Little Funny

I got another rejection yesterday.  It was a canned rejection.  You may be asking yourself why I’m chuckling?  Good question.  See, I thought I had been rejected by the agency in the email before.  Being me, I double checked my rejection emails.  Lo and behold, I have now received the dreaded “Double Rejection”.  The exact same agency (and agent) sent me two (2) rejection emails for the same query letter.

I figure this means one of two things:

1) Someone was cleaning out their email and an intern didn’t know if I had been rejected.  Let’s all be truthful.  We’ve all had (or been) the intern who responds to emails without the boss knowing.  This is the most likely situation.

2) My query letter was read once by one person and another time by another person.  The only reason I mention this is I read an interview lately where an agent mentioned she had sent out a rejection letter to an author.  Then an intern saw the query and went “This could be good.”  So said agent sent an “Yeah, ignore that rejection letter” email, hoping the author hadn’t found an agent yet.  So, does that mean a rejection isn’t really a rejection?  I’ll just take them as “Nope.”

I promise to get back to holiday stories on Monday.

-Amanda Nicole

7 thoughts on “A Little Funny

  1. LOL At least you can see the humor in it and continue to push forward. A rejection now doesn’t mean NO forever even with the same agency, right? And as in any business, sometimes the right hand doesn’t know what the left is doing. You can always decide later if you wish to pursue the same agency again. Keep up the good attitude and keeping going! Smiles!

    • I’d just like to know if a rejection letter means “We’ve rejected you on this project for this query letter.” 😉 I’ll keep going. I don’t have another choice.

  2. Wow, that’s a crazy story. Could you imagine if you got a request after recieving a rejection letter? Actually, I almost wish I didn’t read this as I feel the hope bubbling up inside me…

    • I think once I read that interview (and saw the same agent state it more than once) I wanted to know if there was a way to find out if the rejection was for good. Hope is a good thing. One of these days all of us will realize our dreams of becoming a published author.

  3. Hi Amanda. You’re brave. I sent out a query package at an agent’s request (query, synopsis and first three chapters) and am waiting for a response (please let it be after Christmas). So far, I haven’t been brave enough to share much on my blog (even though I preface it as be a writer’s journey). Maybe if this turns out to be a rejection, I’ll do a blog about going for 100 rejections. You know, keep it light. Submission is a tough process, a real step into the between. We’re in the same boat. Wish you luck, or as I say in my last post–serendipity.

    • Oh, I’m not brave. You write what you know, and currently that’s about trying to be published. It might not get me a lot of followers, but I figure I’ll have the material for a non-fiction book when I become an Amazon bestseller.
      Wow! How does one get an agent to request a query package? I’d love to get an agent’s attention. I’ve got a list of agents to bug after the holidays about SWEET SIXTEEN. And I have a query to rework and get perfect this time.
      When you get brave enough to write about your journey, let me know. I’ve got a nice little blog always looking for guest posts 😉 It might make the first blog post about the journey easier if it goes up on a blog all about the journey. Good luck with the agent who has your query package!

Leave a Reply

