We Interrupt This Holiday Season for Breaking Agent News…

I know.  I promised no agent related posts for the holidays.  That was before I got a rejection yesterday.  Strangely I find myself very upbeat about this rejection.  This rejection was from the agency that had the partial manuscript for THE EARLY YEARS.  Y’all remember THE EARLY YEARS, my 160,000+ word manuscript that was horrible now that I think about it?  Yeah, that manuscript with the “wonderful” query letter got rejected.

A couple of things here.  A)  I had already decided I hated the length and first three chapters and was in the process of revising the whole book when I got the request for the partial.  So, I was thrilled/not-so-sure when I got the partial request.  B) I acknowledge I may have jumped in a bit too early when I started querying agents with a book I had just finished.  My bad.  I apologize.  I should have started with SWEET SIXTEEN.

Anywho, back to the “feels great” rejection.  Yep, I’m still rejected.  But, there were a few things that stood out for the first time in a rejection letter.  Allow me to show you what I mean.

“very well-written”  Oh My Gosh!  Did you see what the agency said?  First time anyone has said something of mine was “very well-written.”  (Let me believe this isn’t a form rejection.)

“confident you could find an agent out there for the THE EARLY YEARS” No one has actually said they are confident I can find an agent for THE EARLY YEARS.  I’m not, but that’s because I’ve torn the book apart for a rewrite.

“Please do keep us in mind”  Oh, I should keep you in mind?  For what shall I keep you in mind for?

“your future work” Future work?  You’d like to see my future work?  Hum, see I just happen to have some work I’m revising and about to send out next month.  I shall keep you in mind for my future work.  And thank you for making me feel good about being rejected.

Okay, back to reality.  Yes, it is a rejection.  But, this is one step closer than I was before.  The next time I get a partial request I shall receive a request for a full manuscript.  Right?  Come January I shall receive lots of partial requests and requests for the full manuscript.

By the way, I will not be hurt if anyone forwards a link to my blog to their agents.  I’m just kidding.  I am really taking this rejection too well.  But did you happen to see the fact I have strong writing and they asked me to keep them in mind for my next project.  I just need to work on speeding the action up.  (Yes, it is most likely a form rejection, but I am going to pretend it isn’t.)

We now return you to the previously scheduled Holiday Short Stories!

-Amanda Nicole

PS: Happy Chanukah!

5 thoughts on “We Interrupt This Holiday Season for Breaking Agent News…

  1. Hooray, a rejection letter that isn’t a canned form letter. You’re making progress, kiddo! You have someone who is actually saying positive things about work even though you got rejected. That’s phenominal news! I’m glad you broke in with this news bulletin. Your fellow writers are rooting for you every step of the way. Keep plugging away at it!

    • Thanks! I think I would have broken down in tears if I had gotten a form rejection on a partial request. I figure this means I should find someone soon that’ll like my work. This is going to happen. I just have to keep believing that.

  2. Just catching up on your blogs. Wow, I’m so proud of you. You have worked so hard and never give up (thats a good thing).

Leave a Reply

