Closing Out Queries

Hope everyone had a great Labor Day Weekend.  My husband finally came home from his training assignment.  I’m not sure what his plans were, but we had a blast having Indian Tacos and Dr. Pepper cake with our neighbor and a friend.

Needless to say, there was not a lot of agent movement this past weekend.  I have to admit this surprised me.  There was a huge part of me that expected agents to clear out their desks right before the holiday weekend.  But, nope, no massive influx of rejections.  (Please don’t remind me that if agents did this massive clearing the letters will not arrive until this week.  Let me have my happiness.)

Just a reminder of where we are.  I have queried 31 agents who represent Family Sagas.  After closing out a bunch of queries this past weekend, I have twenty-six “no” responses.

What’s closing out?  Glad you asked.  In this electronic world, many agents do not send rejections.  They simply ignore those people they don’t like.  Most agents claim if you have not heard back in 4 weeks assume that they are passing on your manuscript.  (For those of you just joining us, this is going off a query letter asking if I can send the agent a few pages of my manuscript.  Agents have not actually seen a partial of my book.)  After 4 weeks I go through my account on Query Tracker and close out queries to agents.  I have done this fourteen times so far in the process.  I think I prefer rejection to no response.

I am certain that my query letter is a huge part of my problem.  This would be why I have posted my new query letter on the blog.  If you haven’t checked it out yet, please do so.  I would be grateful for any input you have.  Next Monday I plan to start working towards querying Sweet Sixteen to agents I have not previously queried.  By begin, I mean I am gonna take my query letter to a writers’ group for help.  Then I will begin querying agents once more.  What’ the chances that Sweet Sixteen gets an agent?  Well, about as good as for The Early Years.  I won’t give up, though.  Besides, it’d be kinda sad to start querying on 13 July and stop before the two month mark!  Then there would be no need for me to annoy you every weekday with my thoughts and feelings.

Well, my husband has not been home in quite a while.  I realize this is just something an Air Force wife has to deal with.  Still, I’d like to spend some time with the man.  Y’all will forgive me for keeping this short, right?

-Amanda Nicole

2 thoughts on “Closing Out Queries

  1. Amanda. Within the next month, I’ll be sending out my first query letter on my latest novel. I will soon know exactly what you’re going through. If it makes you feel any better, one of my writer friends got 50 rejections and then went on to become a NYT best seller within a year of acceptance. Why is this so hard? Thanks for following me on Twitter. I hope I don’t lose track of you with so much going on. I’d like to look at your query letter when I have more time. Think about entering the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest early 2010. I entered this year and made it to the quarter finalists. The first phase of the contest is your pitch. The second phase your query/synopsis. The third, your first 3,000 words, etc. It really prepares you for the submission process. Good luck and hope to be in contact with you again.

    • Thanks for the suggestion, Margaret. I will look in to the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award. If I am still going through this next spring I am also going to enter the Prairie Schooner Novel Contest. Good luck with your novel and the whole process. And I do agree whole heartedly. Why is this so hard?

Leave a Reply

