Beginning of the Second Week

It’s been one week since I started this blog.  Can you believe it?  I can’t.  Wow!  I had 36 hits yesterday and 122 visitors in my first week!  We’re up to 10 subscribers.  Let’s see if we can keep this up.  If you Google “Amanda Nicole Trisdale”, my blog comes up.  Cool, huh?  I think I even got my first criticism on a friend’s Facebook status about having a boring blog.  I figure criticism means I am arriving.  Thanks everyone!  Now, just remember to subscribe and comment.  Comments make me happy.

At the risk of offending people – and what fun is a blog if you don’t offend anyone – to my friends in Colorado, you might have noticed a bit of campaigning going on.  If you are one of those smart people who have a permanent mail-in ballot request on file at the county clerk’s office, you probably noticed an envelope from your county clerk in your mail this week.  It is time for primary season.  Say what you will about Colorado’s caucus/primary hybrid political process, but it is what you guys have.  (Please, please comment on it.  I do so love the debate.)  I began my career in Colorado.  It’s political scene will always have a special place in my heart.  Though I am glad I’m not up there this year.

I’m a party gal.  I don’t believe in divisive primaries.  Don’t get me wrong.  I think primaries are great ways to pick the best person to run in November for the party.  After all, if you are the Colorado GOP do you really want former Congressman Scott McInnis running for governor?  (If you haven’t followed Colorado politics this year, Congressman McInnis has admitted to plagiarism.  A lot of plagiarism.)  A primary is a vetting system for party voters.

Negative, divisive primaries are not good for the party.  A divisive primary not only splits the party (like those in the Democratic Party who claimed they wouldn’t vote for President Obama after he beat Secretary of State Hilary Clinton), but also give the opposition party ideas for their ads against the winner.  Why go out and work when you can get the other party to work for you?

The reason negative campaigning will never go away is the voters.  (I have never been a big fan of voters.  They are weird critters.)  When polled voters dislike negative campaign ads.  Yet, they turn right around and base their votes off that negative campaigning.  (See, weird critters.)  But, still, I’ve got a favor to ask my pals back in Colorado.  Lay off the negative campaigning.  And quit saying your opponent has gone negative.  It’s just as negative to say “He’s being mean to me!  Let me tell you what he’s done!”  You make your candidates sound like little three year old kids.  So, campaign managers and senior staff, please lay off the negative campaigns.

To everyone else in Colorado, if you are a registered party member, please remember to vote in the primary.  If you don’t vote in the primary you really have no right to complain about who your party nominates as their candidate for November.  As they say in Chicago, and parts of Texas, “Vote Early!  Vote Often!”

And please make sure your dead family members vote.  It’s amazing how many dead people are still on the voter rolls.  If you didn’t take your deceased family member off the voter registration lists in their county, guess what?  They are still able to vote until purged in about two presidential cycles.  Make sure to fill out the mail-in ballot the way Great-Grandpa would have voted.  (That whole paragraph was a joke.)

For everyone not in Colorado, we as a country are about halfway to finding out what 870 people are running for US House of Reps.  If you’re in a state that has already had it’s primary (Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, New Mexico, Georgia, just to name a few), go find out what the candidates stand for.  If your state still has a primary coming up (Hi, New Yorkers), it’s up to you and a few neighbors to go look in to the candidates and pick the best one.

If you don’t think your vote counts since it is a mid-term, think again.  This year is a decade year.  Decade years are important elections because of this thing called the Census.  (That thing that by now you have all been counted in, right?  You did respond back in April or talk to the nice people they sent to your door?)  The Census numbers decide how many members of the House your state gets.  Cool, huh?  But each House Member in your state is supposed to theoretically represent the same number of people.  So, your good buddies and neighbors at the State House have to get together and decide on district lines.  Who controls the State House controls where those gerrymandered districts are.  These guys even get to decide where the districts are for your state house and state senate districts.  The best news is those state reps are your neighbors.  Almost literally your next door neighbors.  It’s easier to find them and get to know them.  Pick someone you like and agree with politically, and make sure to vote for them.

Comments, anyone?  Please?  I like comments.  Really, feeeed me comments!  Oh, and don’t forget to subscribe to know when the new blog goes up.

-Amanda Nicole Trisdale

One thought on “Beginning of the Second Week

Leave a Reply

